I’m a temporary vegetarian

Well, I’m 16 weeks pregnant this week and still cannot stomach meat/eggs. At first I was pretty angry about that because eating a ‘paleo/primal’ diet was the basis of how I ate and I knew it was what made me feel good. Eating paleo is how I managed to lose and keep off more than 70 lbs over the past two years; it was manageable and reliable and made me feel like I was doing something good for my body. As an eating disorder survivor, having some sense of control over our diets and bodies can be pretty important for wellness. I quickly realized that I needed to get over this mentality and eat the food, even if that meant that eating a carb-heavy diet for every meal at first. I also realized that despite losing some muscle from not lifting weights, my weight has not changed more than a pound or two, so I guess my body is taking what it needs for the baby and using the rest of the energy.

I also quickly realized that it is really difficult to find tasty, ready to eat vegetarian meals. I really struggled to find anything with vegetables that was easy to heat up! We couldn’t find veggie pizza or lasagna. So I jumped on pinterest and began picking out some recipes for my husband and I to try. And by that… I mean, I found the recipe, prepped the veggies and my husband cooked it. I’m learning πŸ™‚

We made this vegetarian pot pie last night and it was quite the hit. There is something about warm and buttery puff pastry that makes it the perfect addition to a cool and windy fall day. The only thing I would change is that I think I added too many potatoes. I used a bag of small mixed fingerlings instead of three large potatoes so I just eyeballed it. I think if I used less potatoes the roux would have been a bit more liquid-y as it was pretty thick! Overall, filling and hearty and makes 6 large servings!

Here is the link to the recipe: http://lifecurrents.dw2.net/moms-vegetarian-pot-pie/

Leave a Reply

